2018 Fiction Participants

Listed in alphabetical order

Anne Easter SmithAnne Easter Smith

Award-winning historical novelist Anne Easter Smith’s love of history began during her first 25 years in England, where she grew up with London on her doorstep. Known for her medieval-period detail, she has twice given workshops on researching historical fiction and been a panelist at the San Miguel de Allende Writers Conference and Literary Festival in Mexico as well as at several Historical Novel Society national conferences. Anne’s six books focus on the Yorkist perspective during the Wars of the Roses in the 15th Century and were the culmination of a life-long study of King Richard III and his family. Her five-book contract with Simon & Schuster’s Touchstone Books include The King’s Grace, which won the Romantic Times Best Historical Biography award in 2009 and Queen By Right, which was nominated in the same category in 2011, and the best-selling A Rose for the Crown and Daughter of York. She has worked as a features editor for an upstate NY daily newspaper and has been published in several U.S. magazines. Anne is celebrating her 50th year in U.S., on both coasts, but is now settled in Newburyport, MA with her husband, Scott. When she is not writing, Anne can be found acting and directing on local stages including the Firehouse Center for the Arts, where she helps organize the annual New Works Festival.


Ann HoodAnn Hood

Ann Hood is the author most recently of the novel The Book That Matters Most and the memoir Morningstar: Growing Up with Books. Her other books include the bestsellers The Knitting Circle, The Obituary Writer, The Red Thread, and Comfort: A Journey Through Grief, a New York Times Editor’s Choice and named one of the top ten nonfiction books of 2008 by Entertainment Weekly. She’s received a Best American Spiritual Writing Award, two Best American Food Writing Awards, a Best American Travel Writing Award, the Paul Bowles Prize for Short Fiction, and two Pushcart Prizes. Her essays and stories have appeared in The New York Times, The Washington Post, The Paris Review, Tin House, More, Real Simple, Bon Appetit, and National Geographic Traveler, with regular columns in Self, Glamour, Parenting. She became an avid knitter in 2002 to help get through the grief of losing her daughter, Grace, to a virulent form of strep. Through knitting, Hood was able to pick up her craft again and share her painful journey with the world. She was born in the mill town of West Warwick, Rhode Island, and now splits her time between Providence RI and NYC with her husband, the writer Michael Ruhlman.


Christopher IrvinChristopher Irvin

Christopher Irvin is the author of Ragged; or, The Loveliest Lies of All. His debut collection, Safe Inside the Violence, was a finalist for the 2016 Anthony Award for Best Anthology or Collection. He lives in Boston, MA with his wife and two sons.


Rachel KadishRachel Kadish

Rachel Kadish is the award-winning author of the novels From a Sealed Room and Tolstoy Lied: A Love Story, as well as the novella, I Was Here. Her work has appeared on National Public Radio and in the New York Times, Ploughshares, Salon, and Tin House. She has been a fellow of the National Endowment for the Arts and the Massachusetts Cultural Council and a writer in residence at Stanford University, and currently teaches fiction in Lesley University’s MFA Program in Creative Writing. Her most recent novel, The Weight of Ink, was one of Amazon’s Best Books of 2017.


Jessica KeenerJessica Keener

Jessica Keener is the author of the bestselling novel Night Swim and a collection of award-winning short stories, Women in Bed. Her work has appeared in O, the Oprah Magazine, Redbook, the Boston Globe, Agni, and others. She has taught English literature and writing at Brown University, Boston University, the University of Miami, and GrubStreet. She lives in Brookline, Massachusetts. Learn more at www.jessicakeener.com. (Photo credit: Roger Gordy)


Elinor LipmanElinor Lipman

Elinor Lipman is the author of 14 books of fiction and nonfiction, including Then She Found Me, The Inn at Lake Devine, Isabel’s Bed, I Can’t Complain: (All Too) Personal Essays, The View from Penthouse B, and On Turpentine Lane. Her rhyming tweets were published in 2012 as Tweet Land of Liberty: Irreverent Rhymes from the Political Circus. The 2011-12 Elizabeth Drew professor of creative writing at Smith College, she divides her time between New York City and Pawling NY. Her 12th novel, Good Riddance, will be published next February.


Stephen McCauleyStephen McCauley

Stephen McCauley is the author six novels. His seventh, My Ex-Life, will be published in May 2018. Three of his novels have been made into feature films, and he was admitted to the Order of Arts and Letters by the French Ministry of Culture. He currently serves as a Co-Director of Creative Writing at Brandeis University. The Los Angeles Times has said: “McCauley is a social satirist in the tradition of Evelyn Waugh and Oscar Wilde—and like them, he’s a serious writer indeed” and Kirkus Reviews called My Ex-Life “A gin and tonic for the soul.”


Jennifer McMahonJennifer McMahon

Jennifer McMahon is the author of eight novels, including the New York Times bestsellers, Promise Not to Tell and The Winter People. She graduated from Goddard College and studied poetry in the MFA Writing Program at Vermont College. She lives in Vermont with her partner, Drea, and their daughter, Zella. (Photo ©Michael Lionstar)


Meg Mitchell MooreMeg Mitchell Moore

Meg Mitchell Moore the author of the novels The Arrivals (2011), So Far Away (2012), The Admissions (2015), and The Captain’s Daughter (2017). The Admissions was a Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers pick. Her next novel will be out in summer 2019. She worked for many years as a journalist for a wide variety of consumer and business publications before exchanging fact for fiction. Moore has a B.A. from Providence College and an M.A. in English Literature from New York University, and she lives with her husband and their three daughters in Newburyport.


Kate MorettiKate Moretti

Kate Moretti is the New York Times bestselling author of The Vanishing Year, Thought I Knew You, and Binds That Tie. She lives in eastern Pennsylvania with her husband and kids. Find out more at katemoretti.com. (Photo credit: Pooja Dhar, PR Photography)


Peter SwansonPeter Swanson

Peter Swanson is the author of four novels: The Girl With a Clock For a Heart, an LA Times Book Award finalist; The Kind Worth Killing, winner of the New England Society Book Award, and finalist for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger; Her Every Fear; and All the Beautiful Lies, which will be published in April 2018. His books have been translated into 30 languages, and his stories, poetry, and features have appeared in Asimov’s Science Fiction, The Atlantic Monthly, Measure, The Guardian, The Strand Magazine, and Yankee Magazine. A graduate of Trinity College, the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, and Emerson College, he lives in Somerville, Massachusetts, with his wife.


Steve YarbroughSteve Yarbrough

Steve Yarbrough is the author of three short-story collections: Family Men (LSU Press); Mississippi History and Veneer (University of Missouri Press); and a nonfiction book, Bookmarked: Larry McMurtry’s The Last Picture Show (Ig Publishing). He has also published seven novels: The Oxygen Man (MacAdam/Cage), winner of the Mississippi Authors Award, the California Book Award, and an award from the Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters; Visible Spirits; Prisoners of War, a finalist for the PEN/Faulkner award; The End of California; Safe from the Neighbors; The Realm of Last Chances (Alfred A. Knopf); and most recently, The Unmade World (Unbridled Books). He is the recipient of a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts and the winner of a Pushcart Prize, the 2010 Richard Wright Award for Literary Excellence, and the 2015 Robert Penn Warren Award. A member of the Fellowship of Southern Writers and a professor at Emerson College, he lives with his wife in Stoneham, Massachusetts.


 

Newburyport Literary Festival, A Project of the Newburyport Literary Association
PO Box 268 Newburyport, MA 01950
(978) 465-1257